My first day of maternity and I woke up at 5am. I must say it is not fun, but I guess as I am ready to relax, my body is preparing me for the upcoming changes in my life.

I started this new journey back in April, right after my trip to Australia. Little did I know, I will be sitting on my couch, two weeks from the due date and still wondering what it will be like to be a mother. The experience is unique, one of a kind and definitely nothing like what anyone tells you. It still hard for me to grasp a concept that I will be giving a birth to my baby son. Without trying to sound crazy, I feel like I am having an out of body experience. At the same time, I would like to put some of my thoughts and memories down on paper aka “my blog”, so in the future I can remember the details that I might forget otherwise.

Where do I even start… well, to begin with this pleasant surprise, finding out that I am pregnant, was a whirlpool of emotions for me. It was scary, exciting, hard to believe, scary and did I say SCARY. The fear of “WHAT WILL BE NEXT” from work to my life to being a mother all hit me at once and I didn’t have answers. At the same time, I was excited because something this special happened without me planning it, searching that right moment and good timing or wondering if I was ready or not. To be honest, I am not sure if anyone is ever ready. I sure wasn’t ready, but I am so happy it happened. Now there is no looking back and wondering, only looking forward and hoping I will make all the right decisions to raise my little boy.

Pregnancy, one of a kind experience and I feel like there is no way to prepare for it even when you might think you are ready. My hardest hurdle was the fact how quickly I would get tired. Perhaps it was also a moment to take it easy and relax, but I do miss the moments when I felt like doing something new. At the same time, lack of sleeping or waking up early and not able to fall back asleep also it right there at the top of that list. I guess it is a way to prepare for what is soon to come. Plus, please know the “morning sickness” is not limited to the morning time only! However, all in all, apart from feeling not yourself and experiencing a roller coaster of emotions, life is pretty good when you are pregnant. Though it is what you make of the moment, how you will allow yourself to remember it and what you will make of this special time. Don’t judge yourself or be too hard on yourself, pregnancy is already doing that for you. Try to rest as much as possible, drink lots of water and rest some more even if the whole house is a big mess… just simple let it be!

At the same time make the most of your time together with your partner! Apart from that, enjoy each day as it comes as you never know how you might feel or how much energy you might have! Be prepared to be known as a “big belly” as if you no longer have a name or personality and try not to stress mentally about all the weight you will gain during pregnancy! Enjoy life and remember to smile 

P.S. As I am writing this, hurricane Sandy is embracing East Coast. Sending love and prayers to family and friends as well as praying for everyone’s safety!

Leave a Reply

