“Truth is beautiful, without doubt; but so are lies.”~Ralph Waldo Emerson

First, get a helmet. Yes, you heard me. Helmet on!

My first Italian moto adventure started with renting. You know: paperwork, credit card, license, helmets, insurance, price negotiation, moto inspection and almost the keys. Of course, the last part is never that easy. The original moto would not start. Thankfully, the trip was saved as the agency conveniently provided another option at same price.

Here I am, on the back of the moto, driving through the streets of Rome and my first thought… please don’t fall! Have I mentioned it was my first FULL DAY – LONG HOURS – MANY KILOMETERS adventure? Well, it was and I was a tiny bit scared for my life. After all, there is NO seatbelt what-so-ever! Deep-deep-very deep breath! Off on the road in the center of Rome we vroomed.

The fear went away pretty fast as I opened the door to the new stage: discovery. I was like a child taking her first step. As if a whole new world was in front of me. I could feel the air gently caressing my skirt, the smells entering my nostrils and the excitement of speed brushing against my skin. At times I felt paralyzed, as if I was sitting on an electric chair. I was afraid to move. I was afraid any slightest movement can interrupt my new discoveries. I wanted to take in every second of each moment. So I did!

Leave a Reply

