Ever since I can remember, I was never good at “goodbyes”. I would much rather pretend that I am busy and doing a million of nothing than tell someone “I am not sure when I’ll be seeing you next!” As time goes by, I have learned that everything in life goes as we define it. There is no need to pretend that we will go beyond our means to get together. Nonetheless, it is important to know that at some point of our lives we will meet again.

Perhaps the reluctance to say “goodbyes” comes from the fact that I no longer know where I belong and what I can call my “home”. I grew up in Kyrgyzstan, I lived in Russia, I moved to the US and currently I am exploring Italy. I have a history and wonderful memories of each place; however, I don’t belong neither here or there. As of right now, I don’t have a place in mind where I would like to start my own life. Ideally, I would like to always travel and continuously remind myself that there is so much more to life than what I am currently exploring. Traveling allows me to learn about the values I do have and to be grateful for the rights I do own. Plus, there is never a dull moment from the take off to the landing when it comes to travel. It is like playing a detective, who is figuring out how to fit the pieces of the puzzle to make sense of this new place. Currently, I am working on finding “my meaning of life”. What do I want to live for and who do I want to make happy? For the meantime, I am simply doing what will make me happy.

Life is a gift. It is given to us with a purpose. It’s up to you what you will do with it. So, I am turning my “goodbyes” into “I’ll see you later”!!!

Leave a Reply

